of the representation of that province, and there shall be no reduction in the representation of any province as a result of which that province would have a smaller number of members than any other province that according to the results of the then last decennial census did not have a larger population; but for the purposes of any subsequent readjustment of representation under this section any increase in the number of members of the House of Commons resulting from the application of this rule shall not be included in the divisor mentioned in rules one to four of this subsection.

"6. Such readjustment shall not take effect until the termination of the then existing Parliament.

"(2) The Yukon Territory as constituted by chapter forty-one of the statutes of Canada, 1901, shall be entitled to one member, and such other part of Canada not comprised within a province as may from time to time be defined by the Parliament of Canada shall be entitled to one member."

On June 27, 1952, the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration introduced Bill 393, an Act to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons. Royal Assent was given on July 4 to the Representation Act, 1952 (I Eliz. II, c. 48). As a result of this legislation, the total membership of the House of Commons was increased to 265 members, to be effective at the following general election. The representation of the various provinces will be, according to Sect. 2 of the Act, as follows:—

"Sect. 2. Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members."

The Opposition.—The Opposition occupies an essential place in constitutions based on the British parliamentary system. Like many other institutions such as that of the premiership, for instance, it is founded on the unwritten customs that have been accepted and become firmly established.

The choice of the Canadian electorate not only determines who shall govern Canada but, by deciding which party receives the second largest number of seats in the House of Commons, it designates which of the major parties becomes the Official Opposition. The function of the Leader of the Opposition is to offer intelligent and constructive criticism of the Government of the day.

When criticism by the Opposition becomes sufficiently effective it can overthrow the existing Government and the Leader of the Opposition might then, as a result of the ensuing election, become Prime Minister.

Although the position of Leader of the Opposition is not recognized in the British North America Act, it received statutory acknowledgment in Canada in 1927. The Senate and House of Commons Act of that year provided for an annual salary to be paid to the Leader of the Opposition in addition to his indemnity as a Member of the House. (See p. 1296.)